Connect with us


After Winning The Champions League And Euros Ex Chelsea Star Zola Predicts Jorginho Will Win The Ballon Dor

Former Chelsea and Italy forward Gianfranco Zola has predicted Jorginho will win the Ballon d’Or this year, ahead of Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski.
The midfielder has had an great year, winning the European Championship with Italy this summer after winning the Champions League with Chelsea last season.
Jorginho was a vital member of the Chelsea team that won the Champions League by defeating Manchester City, and he was one of the star performances at Euro 2020, where Italy defeated England in the final.
Jorginho has won the European Championship and Champions League in recent months, according to Gianfranco Zola. The 29-year-old’s outstanding performances this season have elevated him to a legitimate contender for football’s most coveted individual prize, but he has stiff competition from club teammate N’Golo Kante, Messi, and Lewandowsk.
Messi, the Barcelona superstar who has won the award a record six times, is the clear favorite after winning Argentina’s first major title, the Copa America, this summer, but Zola believes Jorginho would ‘deserve’ to win it ahead of him.
‘Now we’re talking about a tremendous player like Messi who performed extraordinary things with his national team for the first time – and this won’t go ignored,’ Zola remarked.
After leading Argentina to Copa America triumph last summer, Lionel Messi is the clear favorite. Robert Lewandowski, who scored 48 goals last season, is also a contender. ‘Should they give it to Jorginho?
It is well-deserved.
His teams benefit from his concrete balance and pace.
I was fortunate to have him at Chelsea, and I am familiar with his abilities on the field.
‘That would be well-deserved since not only were his performances excellent, but the teams for which he played were also exceptional.’
This must be taken into consideration.
Luka Modric, who received the award in 2018, had similar success with his club and on the international scene, and Jorginho can take inspiration from that.
Modric, now 35, broke Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi’s decade-long hold on the Ballon d’Or in 2018, when he was named the best player in the world after winning the Champions League for the third time and leading Croatia to the World Cup final.
Apart from Modric’s triumph, Messi and Ronaldo have received the award every year since 2008.
Since 2008, Luka Modric is the only player other than Messi and Ronaldo to win the award.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in News